Mobile Tartu 2016
29/06 to 01/07 2016 @ Tartu, Estonia
Deadline for abstract submission: 15/01/2016
Read more!

Mobile Tartu 2016

The aim of the event is to discuss theoretical, methodological and empirical aspects of research using mobile data – derived from mobile phone or crowd-sourced social media – and explore practical applications of this data in geography and planning.

Mobile Tartu 2016 proposes also special events:
1) PhD course “Mobile Phone based Data Collection Experiment” on 29−30 June
2) "Social Network and Travel behavior" - COST TU1305 Workshop on 29−30 June
3) “Mobile phones, travel and transportation” on 1-st July organised by NECTAR

Participation fee:
Early bird registration until 31.03.2016: students 100 EUR; regular 210 EUR
Late registration from 01.04.2016: students 150 EUR; regular 280 EUR


Deadline for abstract submission to the main conference and special events:
15th January 2016. Abstract (max 200 words) submission console
15 February – acceptance notifications
20 June – deadline for submitting a full paper

A special issue(s) in a scientific journal cited in ISI Web of Science is planned to be published. The journal will be selected after receiving papers. The papers from Mobile Tartu 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014 were published in the Journal of Urban Technology, the Journal of Location Based Services, and International Journal of Geographical Information Science.


Venue: Department of Geography, Vanemuise 46, University of Tartu, Tartu, 51014, Estonia

Contacts of the organising committee:
Head of organising committee: prof. Rein Ahas
E-mail: mobiletartu (at)
Phone: +372-7-375077
Chair of Human Geography
University of Tartu
Vanemuise St. 46
51014 Tartu

Scientific Program Committee

Prof. Rein Ahas, University of Tartu
Prof. Gennady Andrienko, Fraunhofer IAIS and City University London
Prof. Kay Axhausen, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
Prof. Vincent Blondel, University of Louvain
Prof. Yanwei Chai, Peking University
Prof. Martin Dijst, Utrecht University
Prof. Karst T. Geurs, University of Twente
Prof. Prof Bob McKercher, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Prof. Menno-Jan Kraak, University of Twente
Prof. Jukka Matthias Krisp, University Augsburg
Prof. Mei-Po Kwan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Prof. Yu Liu, Peking University
Prof. Harvey Miller, Ohio State University
Prof. Martin Raubal, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
Prof. Noam Shoval, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Michail Skaliotis, Eurostat
Dr. Zbigniew Smoreda, Orange Labs
Prof. Tiit Tammaru, University of Tartu
Margus Tiru, Positium LBS
Dr. Emmanouil Tranos, University of Birmingham
Prof. Donggen Wang, Hong Kong Baptist University
Prof. Wanggen Wan, Shanghai University
Prof. Nico Van de Weghe, Ghent University
Prof. Robert Weibel, University of Zurich
Prof. Frank Witlox, Ghent University
Dr. Matthew A. Zook, University of Kentucky

Local Organising Committee

Rein Ahas (Chair), Department of Geography, University of Tartu (rein.ahas (at)
Kristi Sõmer (Secretariat), Department of Geography, University of Tartu (mobiletartu (at)
Erki Saluveer, Positium LBS
Janika Raun, Department of Geography, University of Tartu
Anto Aasa, Department of Geography, University of Tartu

Contact Mobile Tartu 2016 Team